forced to buy subscriptions

forced to buy subscriptions

Postby cactusflier » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:47 am

I am an airline pilot who used this app for years, now with version 7.21 I am forced to subscribe to track more than five flights in a month. This app is now dead to me and I will use company supplied app, not as clean interface but I am not forced to buy a subscription. Too bad.
cactusflier

Re: forced to buy subscriptions

Postby Silverware » Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:17 pm

The change was a necessity. 3 years ago the service we use changed their pricing scheme from a fixed price paid to them each monty to a per-transaction charge where we pay for every request made to the service. The app has been losing money for 3 years and I had to make a decision. Either close down the app and remove it from sale or offer a subscription option that would match the costs of tracking flights (and allow for a modest profit).

The loses have gotten so bad because of heavy users who would track in excess of 100 flights (sometimes 150 flights) per month. To compound this many people took advantage of Apple's Family Sharing plan which would allow up to 5 family members to download the app for free and track an unlimited number of flights. There was no way we could cover these heavy users and family sharing users.

I understand the app is dead to you but perhaps others might consider subscribing. They will be able to continue to use a great app and allow me to invest in the app and allow me to make enhancements and improvements and support the new forthcoming iOS 13.